14th Annual biocuration conference (virtual)

The 14th annual biocuration conference is virtual in 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

We will host monthly virtual sessions in the form of talks and workshops on a monthly basis starting on April 13, 2021. All sessions are open to all and free to attend. See below or read our FAQs for more information.

Abstract submissions and Registration


The recordings of past sessions are available here.


  1. Please Register to attend any future events. You only need to register once to receive information about all the upcoming virtual events.
  2. You can register now and submit an abstract in the future too.
  3. Deadline for Abstract submissions: We request you to submit your abstract one month prior to the date of the Virtual Event:
  • 05 September 2021 – Deadline for poster submissions
  • 14 November 2021 – Deadline for talks

Session 3: 17 August 2021

Workshop: Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI)
8am PST, 4pm BST, 5pm CET, 8.30pm IST, 11pm CST

In mid April, the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) committee of the ISB hosted a screening of the film Picture a Scientist. Sponsored by the Executive Committee, this 90 minute film is an acclaimed documentary that addresses systemic gender bias and racism in the world of science. 

This workshop will be of great interest to those who were able to view the film, as well as those with an interest in EDI issues. To ensure the smooth running of this virtual workshop it will be chaired by a moderator, and we hope a panel of curators and EDI professionals will present to guide the discussion. 

Topics for discussion will include (but not be limited to): the movie itself, discrimination in the workplace, how complaints about discrimination are managed within the workplace, and possible steps to tackle discrimination. 


Session 4: 05 October 2021

  • Annual General Meeting, Nicole Vasilevsky, Chair
  • Biocuration Award talks (TBD)
  • Poster session

Session 5: 14 December 2021

Speakers TBD


Past Sessions:

Session 1: 13 April 2021

8 – 10 AM PT / 11 – 1 PM ET / 4 – 6 PM BST (see time zone conversions here)

Session 1 recording is available here.

Invited talks from Database Journal Virtual Issue

The ISB community was invited to submit papers to the 2020 Database Journal Virtual issue. A subset of papers were selected for talks at the 2020 conference in Bar Harbor, which was cancelled due to COVID. These speakers were invited to give talks at the inaugural virtual Biocuration 2021 session.

Speakers:

  1. Patrick Ruch – A neural network based pipeline to classify publications for UniProtKB protein entries“, HES-SO\HEG Geneva & SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics 
  2. Constance Smith – Addition of RNA Seq Data and New Search Utilities to the Mouse Gene Expression Database (GXD)“, The Jackson Laboratory, Bar Harbor, ME, USA
  3. Randi Vita – A structured model for immune exposures“, La Jolla Institute for Allergy and Immunology, San Diego, CA, USA
  4. Federica Quaglia – APICURON: a database to credit and acknowledge the work of biocurators”, CNR-IBIOM, University of Padova, Padova, Italy

Panel: Future of Biocuration

Panel Members:

Carol Bult – The Jackson Laboratory, Bar Harbor, ME, USA
James Malone – SciBite, Cambridge, UK 
Kambiz Karimi – Myriad Women’s Health, South San Francisco, CA, USA
Sandra Orchard – EBI, Cambridge, UK

Session Chair: Rama Balakrishnan- Genentech, USA


Session 2: June 15 2021

8 – 10 AM PT / 11 – 1 PM ET / 4 – 6 PM BST (see time zone conversions here)

Session 2 recording is available here.

Speakers:

  1. Jiyu Chen, Automatic Consistency Assurance for Literature-based Gene Ontology Annotation, University of Melbourne, Australia.
  2. Sushma Naithani, Biocuration training for undergraduate students: challenges and opportunities, Oregon State University, USA.
  3. Livia Perfetto, A Resource for the Network Representation of Cell Perturbations Caused by SARS-CoV-2 Infection, Fondazione Human Technopole, Italy.
  4. Sylvain Poux, Functional annotation of specific protein products in UniProtKB/Swiss-Prot, SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics, Switzerland.

Panel: Career paths and projections in Biocuration

Panel Members:
Pankaj Jaiswal, Oregon State University, Oregon, USA
Tanya Berardini, Phoenix Bioinformatics, Fremont, CA, USA
Nicola Mulder, University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa

Session chair: Peter Uetz, Virginia Commonwealth University, Virginia, USA

Conference Planning Committee

Rama Balakrishnan, Genentech, USA (Chair)
Susan Bello, Jackson Labs, USA (Co-Chair)

Priya Arasu
Tatiparthi Balakrishna Reddy, JGI, USA
Madhu Bi
Marc Gillespie, Reactome, USA
Parul Gupta, Oregon State, USA
Robin Haw, Reactome, USA
Rabia Khan
Jane Lomax, SciBite, UK
Sandra Orchard, EBI, UK
Federica Quaglia, DisProt/PED @ UniPD, Italy
Saurabh Raghuvanshi, Genome India, India
Peter Uetz
Kimberly Van Auken, Cal Tech/Wormbase, USA
Nicole Vasilevsky, Oregon Health & Science University, USA


All speakers, panelists and attendees are expected to agree to the ISB Code of Conduct.

Sponsors