Welcome to the ISB!

The ISB is a non profit organization for biocurators, developers, and researchers with an interest in biocuration. The society promotes the field of biocuration and provides a forum for information exchange through meeting and workshops.

Executive Committee Election

The election of four members of the International Society for Biocuration Executive Committee (ISB EC) will be held from September 26 – October 03, 2022.

If you would like to run for a position on the Executive Committee, please fill out this form by 29 August 2022. More information about the role of the Executive Committee and the time involved is available here.

15th Annual biocuration conference (virtual)

The 15th Annual Biocuration Conference (ISB2022) is virtual in 2022. Click here to know more about the the three sessions of ISB2022, featuring talks and workshops that will take place starting April 2022.

Next session: October 4th, 2022

The session will feature the Annual General Meeting of the society, Biocuration Awards talks, and a Poster Session.

8 – 10.30 am PT / 11 – 1.30 pm ET / 4 – 6.30 pm BST / 5 – 7.30 pm CET (see time zone conversions here)

The registration is open.

Excellence in Biocuration Award winners for year 2022

ISB is pleased to announce the winners for the “Excellence in Biocuration Award” for this year:

Early Career: Shirin Saverimuttu, SciBite Limited, Cambridge, UK

Advanced Career: Antonia Lock, European Bioinformatics Institute, Hinxton, Cambridge, UK


The ISB is committed to the inclusion and recognition of all community members regardless of race, age, culture, ability, ethnicity or nationality, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, marital status, religious affiliation, and socioeconomic status.


The informative flyer of the ISB is available in different languages on the about page of the website.