# International Society for Biocuration Minutes Annual General Meeting

## Virtual AGM

#### 5th October 2021

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Yowgtt4TSc&list=PLYM0tkKvhlX5wScRXDYRk8fZiPQYf3d HL&index=4

### Present:

Executive committee: Nicole Vasilevsky (Chair) (NC), Robin Haw (Treasurer), Randi Vita, Rama Balakrishnan, Mary Ann Tuli

ISB members: Federica Quaglia, Sushma Naithani, Parul Gupta, Pascale Gaudet, Mike Cherry, Monica Munoz-Torres, Andrew Su.

Apologies received from: Ruth Lovering (Secretary)

### 1. Welcome

NC welcomed all to the AGM

#### 2. Matters arising from the 2020 AGM

There were no matters arising

3. Matters to report (ISB members were invited to ask questions during the presentation)

- NC gave a presentation summarizing the activities undertaken by ISB during the past year and the current and new composition of the Executive Committee (EC). <u>https://f1000research.com/slides/10-1043</u>. NC thanked Sandra Orchard, Jane Lomax and Frederic Bastian for all their work for the ISB as members of the EC, and welcomed Sushma Naithani, Federica Quaglia, Parul Gupta to the EC.
- NC listed the 4 main aims of the ISB to: Promote the work of biocurators, Foster connections, promote communications and Encourage best practices
- NC confirmed that there are currently 232 ISB members and that membership fees are now being collected by STRIPE. Also noting that over the past year it had not been possible to collect membership fees and therefore each membership had been extended for around 12 months free of charge.
- NC presented the Financial summary for 2020-2021

Incom e		
	Memb ership fees	CHF 7,557
Expen diture		

	ISB Spons orship	CHF 708
	Admini stratio n	CHF 2,059
	Total	CHF 2,767
	Taxes	CHF 453
Balan ce		CHF 121,87 3

- NC summarized what the ISB provides with respect to:
  - Awards, fellowships and other funding
  - Outreach to the biocuration community via newsletters, email, twitter
  - Useful information about training and job opportunities
- NC confirmed that this years ISB award winners were:
  - Anne Niknejad (Biocuration Career Award)
  - Amos Bairoch (Exceptional Contribution to Biocuration Award)
- NC listed the members of the EC subcommittees.
- NC thanked the ISB-members and EC members who had been involved in a variety of ISB committees including:
  - The ISB award committee (Rama Balakrishnan, Sandra Orchard, Meghan Balk, Dan Rigden, Donna Maglott, Susan Tweedie, Jana Sponarova).
  - The 2021 virtual conference committee (Rama Balakrishnan-co-Chair, Sue Bello- co-Chair, Federica Quaglia, Peter Uetz, Nicole Vasilevsky, Sandra Orchard.
  - The EDI committee (Yvonne Bradford, Sara El-Gebali, Robin Haw, Rachael Huntley, Tiago Lubiana, Peter McQuilton, Ilene Mizrachi, Sushma Naithani, Monica Munoz-Torres, Shashikant Pujar, Lorna Richardson, Marc Robinson-Rechavi, Andrew Su, Mary Ann Tuli, Nicole Vasilevsky, Roxanne Yamashita
  - The EC election committee (Cristina Casals, Moni Munoz-Torres, Leonore Reiser, Laurens Wilming, Val Wood) and Election officer (Petra Fey)
- NC presented the highlights of the results of the 2020-2021 survey



- Finally NC explained that the 2022 conference would be virtual again this year and that there would be a UK-local ISB meeting in May 2022. NC also invited ISB members to contact the ISB EC if they would like to hosts regional meetings in other areas.
- The AGM was closed at ? (AGM lasted approx 18 min) and was followed by a Strategic planning for the ISB panel discussion.